Tags

, , ,

Sibylle Peretti’s Interview with Lucky Compiler – An Excerpt

Sibylle’s work has all the elements of a quasi-mythic narrative bordering on the realms of fairy tale and science exploring the vulnerability of children and the pain experienced thereof. It, therefore, comes as no surprise that an old medical book of her grandfather, who was a doctor, with pictures of children suffering from various medical conditions has piqued her interest. Read on to explore and understand the artist and her creations.

unicorn

 

Your artwork often is a touching narrative of innocence as seen in children. When did you first feel compelled to take up this subject? Do you consciously choose glass over other mediums for your sculptures? If so, then when?

My grandfather was a doctor. One afternoon I discovered boxes of medical books from the 1930s stored in the attic of his house. I was fascinated by the illustrations I discovered. They showed children with minor or major diseases, limbs and overall beautiful colours. But what kept my strongest interest was the unique expression on their faces. Somehow I felt obligated to transform these children by removing them out of their original realities and pair them with natural elements, letting them play roles in mysterious dramas. I try to endow them with a higher dignity, which they were deprived of as medical specimens.

childrenofthesea

I choose glass over other mediums, because the fragility and translucency of the material afford me an added dimension, an extra layer to enhance my ideas of humanities temporal existence. Glass allows me an expression deeply connected to my vision. Beneath the surface, I can produce a mysterious world, an atmosphere where connections are tenuous and brittle.

Read the full interview at Lucky Compiler

Image Courtesy: Sibylle Peretti

 

