Tags

, , , , , , ,

Sarat Chandra Chattopadhyay-study

I do not aspire after immortality, for like many other things in life the human mind is subject to change. So what looks important today may appear insignificant some other day and small wonder. Even if, in the long run, the major portion of my literary attainment is submerged under the neglect of unborn generations, I shall have no regrets. It remains my only hope that if there is an element of truth anywhere in it that much will survive as my contribution defying the ravages of time. It matters little if it is not abundantly rich; it is in order to pay my homage to the muse with that humble offering that I have sacrificed my lifelong labour. This heartening reflection will illumine my hour of departure at the end of the day and fill me with the assurance that I am a blessed being who has not lived in vain.

Sarat Chandra Chattopadhyay (September 15, 1876 – January 16, 1938)

 

Image Courtesy:

Biswarup Ganguly

